How the Scheme Works
List of Current Fellows
List of Past Fellows
Partner Institutions
Articles on the Scheme
Applying to the Scheme
Paul Sayer
Paul Sayer
Fellow at University of Leeds, 2008-10

Paul Sayer is a former psychiatric nurse whose first novel The Comforts of Madness (1988) won the Constable Trophy, the Whitbread First Novel prize, and the Whitbread Book of the Year award. His five subsequent books include The Absolution Game (1992), Booker Prize 'long-listed', and Men in Rage (1999) published by Bloomsbury. His work has been translated into ten languages, and he has been the recipient of a number of scholarships, including a Society of Authors travel award and, for 2007/8, a Wingate Scholarship to support the writing of a new novel.

Paul has tutored for Arvon, and has numerous credits for reviews and features in: the Sunday Times, Times, Independent, Literary Review, Time Out, Nursing Standard, Nursing Times, and many more. Psychiatry and psychological sciences remain an interest. He lives in York, and his hobbies include plotting the downfall of Coral the Bookmakers, and inviting people to underestimate him, then making them look irredeemably foolish.

'The Comforts of Madness is surely sad, but enthralling in its excellence. Sayer's style is understated and surehanded.'- New York Newsday