skip to Main Content

Beatrice Colin 1963-2019

Novelist, Radio/tv/screenwriter

Beatrice Colin was a novelist who also wrote extensively for radio. Her novels included The Luminous Life of Lilly Aphrodite (2008) and The Songwriter (2010). She also wrote two novels for children: My Invisible Sister (2010) and Pyrate’s Boy (2013). The film rights for the former were bought by Disney.

Beatrice was born in London and moved to Scotland as a child. After graduating from the University of Glasgow, she worked as journalist for the arts and features pages of publications including the Scotsman, Sunday Herald and the Guardian. She wrote many original plays for BBC Radio 4, including The True Life of Bonnie Parker (2013), which was broadcast as a Woman’s Hour serial. Her short stories were broadcast and published in anthologies and literary magazines such as Ontario Review and the London Magazine.

Beatrice was also a lecturer in creative writing at Strathclyde University and a mentor for the Scottish Book Trust.



Beatrice Colin 1963-2019
Image Credit: Swordfish Photography


University of Strathclyde 2008/09
Back To Top