skip to Main Content

Lucy Caldwell

Novelist, Playwright

Born in Belfast in 1981, Lucy Caldwell read English at Queen’s College, Cambridge and is a graduate of Goldsmiths’ MA in creative and life writing.She is the author of three novels: Where They Were Missed (2006), The Meeting Point (2011), which featured on BBC Radio 4’s Book at Bedtime and was awarded the Dylan Thomas prize, and All the Beggars Riding (2013), which also featured on Book at Bedtime, was chosen for Belfast’s and Derry’s One City One Book initiative, a Fiction Uncovered choice and shortlisted for the Kerry Group Irish novel of the year.

Lucy’s stage plays (Leaves, Guardians, Notes to Future Self) and radio dramas (Girl from Mars, Avenues of Eternal Peace, Witch Week, The Watcher on the Wall) have won awards including the George Devine award, the Susan Smith Blackburn award and the Imison award. In 2011 she was awarded the Rooney prize for Irish literature for her body of work to date, and in 2012 she was the recipient of a major individual artist award from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland. Lucy is senior lecturer in creative writing at City University, London, and a member of the Folio Prize Academy.

Lucy Caldwell
Image credit: Tom Routh


Royal Holloway, University of London 2010/11
Back To Top