skip to Main Content

Simon Louvish


Simon Louvish was born in Glasgow, Scotland, in 1947; his parents emigrated to Israel in 1949 where he was schooled in Jerusalem until 1968. He attended the London School of Film Technique from 1968 to 1970. He married in 1979 and lives in London.

Simon has produced and photographed freelance documentary films, including End of the Dialogue, Apartheid in South Africa (1970), Greece of Christian Greeks – the Colonels’ regime (1971), and To Live in Freedom, the conflict in Israel-Palestine (1973). He has been a tutor and lecturer at the London International Film School (now the London Film School), full or part-time, since 1978.

He is the author of 11 works of fiction, including the Blok trilogy, Resurrections from the Dustbin of History, What’s Up God? The Days of Miracles and Wonders, and most recently, The Cosmic Follies (2004). He is also author of five movie biographies: Man on the Flying Trapeze, the Life and Times of W.C. Fields (1997), Monkey Business, the Lives and Legends of the Marx Brothers (1999), Stan and Ollie, the Double Life of Laurel and Hardy (2002), and Keystone, the Life and Clowns of Mark Sennett (2004). Mae West: It Ain’t No Sin, was published by Faber & Faber in 2005. He has also reviewed books for the Guardian, New Statesman, Literary Review and Independent.

Simon Louvish



Roehampton University 2005-07
Back To Top