Alison Bruce



Alison Bruce is a crime novelist and creator of the Cambridge-based Gary Goodhew series, which includes the bestselling titles Cambridge Blue (Constable, 2008), The Calling (Constable, 2011) and her most recent novel The Promise (Constable, 2016). She has also written two factual crime books including Billington: Victorian executioner (The History Press, 2009) and a number of short stories. ‘A Time to Seek’ appears in The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 11 (Mammoth Books, 2014). In 2013 she was shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association dagger-in-the-library award.

Alison became an RLF Fellow in 2012, based at Anglia Ruskin University in Cambridge. She has a keen interest in the promotion and encouragement of creative writing and frequently speaks at libraries, schools and writers’ groups. Since 2008 she has sponsored Fordham Primary School’s storyteller-of-the-year award and she is the patron of Lakenheath Library in Suffolk.

Alison was born in Croydon, grew up in Swindon and moved to a village just outside Cambridge in 1998. She previously worked in the IT industry. Outside work she has a longstanding love of 1950s music and design and has written articles for several specialist magazines as well as scripting and presenting a regular radio feature, Jam-Up for BBC Wiltshire Sound. She is married with two children and, alongside her work on the Gary Goodhew series, is currently developing a new series set around Ely and the Fens.

More from Alison Bruce


Alison Bruce



[email protected]




  • Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge Campus, 2016–2017
  • Anglia Ruskin University, Cambridge Campus, 2012–2014