Anne Donovan

Short-story writer, Novelist


Anne Donovan is a novelist and short-story writer. She is the author of the short-story collection Hieroglyphics (2001) and the novels Buddha Da (2003), Being Emily (2008) and Gone are the Leaves (2014), all published by Canongate. Buddha Da, the story of a Glasgow painter and decorator who turns to Buddhism, was shortlisted for the Orange Prize, the Whitbread first novel award and the Scottish book of the year award, and was nominated for the International Impac Dublin literary award. It received a Scottish Arts Council award and won Le Prince Maurice award in Mauritius in 2004.

Anne Donovan won the Macallan/Scotland on Sunday short-story award in 1997 for the story ‘All that Glisters’ and was a Canongate prize-winner in 2000. In addition, her stories have been broadcast and published in various anthologies. Audio files of the author reading some of her short stories can be heard on the website of her publisher, Canongate.


|Anne Donovan

Anne Donovan

Short-story writer, Novelist


[email protected]




  • University of Glasgow, School of Education, 2008–2009