Catherine Czerkawska



Catherine Czerkawska has written poems, novels, short stories and award winning plays for the stage and for radio, including over 200 hours of drama for BBC Radio 4. Her stage play Wormwood, about the Chernobyl disaster, was produced to critical acclaim at the Traverse Theatre and is a set text for the Scottish Higher Drama course.

Her third novel The Curiosity Cabinet (Polygon 2005) was one of three finalists for the Dundee Book Prize, and her non-fiction book, God s Islanders, a study of the history and landscape of Gigha, was published by Birlinn in November 2006. She is completing a new novel called ‘The Physic Garden’, as well as a collection of short stories. She has published a poetry pamphlet, The Scent of Blue and participates in public readings throughout Scotland.

Catherine lives in rural Ayrshire with her artist husband Alan Lees, regularly contributes to her own blog and writes occasional freelance articles for various publications including the Financial Times.

More from Catherine Czerkawska


Catherine Czerkawska



[email protected]




  • University of the West of Scotland, Ayr Campus, 2005–2009