Jane Adams



Jane Adams is the author of 25 published novels in the crime genre. Her first novel, The Greenway, was nominated for both the Crime Writers’ Association and Authors’ Club awards for most promising first novel. Many of her books are available in translation in about a dozen languages. Her books range from straightforward police procedurals to crossovers, which present an historical or even supernatural context. Most of the books focus on both the puzzle of the investigation and the psychological impact of violence on the wider community, and also present a strong sense that everything that happens in the present has deep, historical roots. Most recently, the books have focused on the ongoing impact of the Cold War and the effects of post-colonialism upon those who lived through these transitions.

She has been involved in teaching creative writing since 2000, working with writers at all stages of development, from beginners to published authors. She helped to design and implement the certificate in creative writing for the University of Leicester’s Institute of Lifelong Learning. More recently, she has been teaching undergraduates at De Montfort University. She also mentors and works on manuscript appraisals, and acts as a book doctor, assisting authors with their structural and editorial problems. This and her RLF post help her to reflect on her own process and keep her work fresh and relevant.

When not writing she loves to paint, to take photographs and to make silver and enamel jewellery, all of which she sells through galleries.

More from Jane Adams

|Jane Adams|Jane Adams

Jane Adams



[email protected]




  • De Montfort University, 2015–2018
  • De Montfort University, 2013–2014
  • Nottingham Trent University, 2010–2011
  • De Montfort University, 2005–2009
  • University of Leicester, 2004–2005