Margaret Murphy

Novelist, Short-story writer


Margaret Murphy has written nine psychological thrillers, receiving accolades from broadsheets and tabloid newspapers in the UK as well as starred reviews from Publishers’ Weekly and Booklist in the USA. Her début novel Goodnight, My Angel (Macmillan 1996) was shortlisted for the First Blood award for crime fiction, and she has been shortlisted for the Crime Writers’ Association dagger-in-the-library award.

In 2000, Margaret Murphy founded Murder Squad, a touring group of crime writers, which has inspired many other writers to form collectives to promote their work. Her short stories have appeared in Liverpool Stories (Comma, 2004), Best British Mysteries (Allison & Busby, 2005; Constable & Robinson, 2013) and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. Her story ‘The Message’ in Best Eaten Coldand Other Stories (Mystery Press, 2012) was awarded the Crime Writers’ Association short-story dagger in 2012.

Before taking up the pen, Margaret taught for 17 years in schools, first in science and later specialising in dyslexia. Since being published, she has tutored creative writers at the Open College of the Arts and on Arvon Foundation courses, taught for four years on the MA in writing at Liverpool John Moores University, and has presented workshops and lectures across the UK. Since stepping down from the Crime Writers’ Association committee, which she chaired from 2009 until 2010, Margaret Murphy has been developing a trilogy of forensic thrillers in collaboration with a forensic scientist, under the pseudonym A.D. Garrett. The first Everyone Lies was published by C&R Crime in 2013.

More from Margaret Murphy


Margaret Murphy

Novelist, Short-story writer


[email protected]




  • University of Manchester, 2015–2017
  • University of Chester, 2014–2015
  • University of Chester, 2010–2011
  • Liverpool Hope University, 2008–2010