Mick Jackson

Radio/tv/screenwriter, Novelist


Mick Jackson writes fiction and screenplays. His first novel The Underground Man (Faber, 1997) was shortlisted for the Booker prize and won the Royal Society of Authors’ first novel award. He has since published two novels, Five Boys (Faber, 2001) and The Widow’s Tale (Faber, 2010), as well as two ‘curiosities’, Ten Sorry Tales (Faber, 2005) and Bears of England (Faber, 2009), both illustrated by David Roberts.

Between 2011 and 2012 he was the writer-in-residence at the Science Museum. To coincide with this, Faber published Junior Science, an ebook of three short stories. He has also written and directed short films, documentaries and single dramas, including Silvering Up (BBC2, 1997) and Roman Road (ITV, 2004). In 2007 Luis Cook of Aardman Films adapted The Pearce Sisters from Ten Sorry Tales, which won the Bafta for best short animation.

More from Mick Jackson

Image Credit: Zul Mukhida

Mick Jackson

Radio/tv/screenwriter, Novelist




  • University of Southampton, 2015–2016
  • University of Sussex, 2012–2014